Rose Hall Town Edge D’Edward

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur Staff

Pre-tournament favourite, Rose Hall Town Pepsi held their nerves in a tense atmosphere to defeat a determined D’Edward Cricket Club by one wicket to clinch the 2012 BCB/Neal & Massy Intermediate 50-Overs Tournament.

Neal & Massy regional manager Wazir Ally hands over the winner's trophy to Ravi Narine, captain of the Rose Hall Town Pepsi team

Playing in front of a fair size crowd at the Albion Community Centre Cricket ground under hazy clouds, Rose Hall Town Pepsi were indebted to a tense last wicket partnership of six runs from 42 balls by national player Arif Chan and former Berbice Under-19 player Ingram Dey who both ended on three not out each.

Play was delayed by 90 minutes at the start of the day due to overnight rain and the match was reduced to 40 overs per side.

Batting first after losing the toss, D’Edward were given a flying start of 31 in 4.3 overs by openers Romesh Boodram and Jagdeo Persaud before Boodram was dismissed by medium pacer Jason Sinclair for 19 (3×4) and then Jagdeo was caught brilliantly by Devin Baldeo for 15 (3×4) off Ingram Dey for 15 to leave the visitors 35 for 2 in the 6th Over.

Seasoned middle order batsman Heeralall Bridgelall was then removed by Sinclair for 3 at 38 for 3 and it took Derick Narine Jnr 25 and Jaipaul Heeralall 20 to take D’Edward to 114 all out in 32 Overs.

Batting at No. 9 Lakraj Sukhra supported with 15 as Sinclair ended with 3 wickets for 16 runs (5 Overs) and Berbice off-spinner Eon Hooper 4 for 27 (8 Overs). Ingram Dey, skipper Ravi Narine and Dominique Rikhi supported with a wicket each.

Needing to score 115 runs off 40 overs, Rose Hall Town Pepsi was given a solid start of 34 in 11 overs by former national Under-19 player Dominique Rikhi and Berbice Under-17 player Devin Baldeo before Rikhi ran himself out for 15 and then Baldeo was caught off off-spinner Derick Narine Jnr for 18 to leave Rose Hall Town Pepsi at 47 for 2.

Jason Sinclair was then caught behind by the highly impressive wicketkeeper Lakraj Sukhra for 12 off Navindra Rampersaud. National player Delbert Hicks and his older brother Michael Hicks then added 41 for the 4th wicket to take their team to 90 for 3 in the 25th Over before Michael Hicks was stumped off Romain Boodram for 8. Eon Hooper 2, Askay Homraj 2, Ravi Narine 3, Delbert Hicks 38 (2×6,3×4) and Jamal Jarvis 0 were then dismissed to leave Rose Hall Town Pepsi at 109 for 9.

The Rose Hall Town Pepsi team pose with officials and sponsors after winning the 2012 Neal & Massy competition.

Chan and Dey then calmly took Rose Hall Town Pepsi home with their last wicket partnership. With the scores tied, it took them 20 deliveries to score the winning run as Rose Hall Town Pepsi ending on 116 for 9 in the 37th Over. Bowling for a deeply disappointed D’Edward, veteran Eon Abel took 3 for 17 (6 overs) and Christian France 2 for 18.

First vice-president of the Berbice Cricket Board Anil Beharry hailed the tournament as a great success and stated that it was used as a bridge between second division and first division.

He praised the two finalists for providing a close and tense game for the crowd and urged them to maintain the high standard. Public Relations Officer of the Berbice Cricket Board and Chairman of the Special Events Committee, Hilbert Foster, expressed gratitude to the Management of Neal & Massy for their massive investment into Berbice Cricket.

Foster stated that the Berbice Cricket Board was pleased to organise such a tournament of high standard and was able to discover new talents.

Regional Manager of the sponsor Wazir Ally expressed his delight at what he described as a brilliant and well organised tournament by the Berbice Cricket Board.

Ally stated that Neal & Massy would continue to invest heavily in sports at all levels as it understands its responsibility as a corporate citizen. Rose Hall Town Pepsi received $60,000 and the beautiful Neal & Massy trophy while D’Edward carried home $30,000. Delbert Hicks received $10,000 and a trophy after been named Man of the Finals. Other prizes were also given out.