Jaguars Off To T&T

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

The Guyana Jaguars will depart these shores today for Trinidad and Tobago where they will participate in this year’s West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) NAGICO Regional Super 50 tournament. The 50-over tournament will be played from January 15 to 25.

All-rounder Christopher Barnwell will lead the local side, which includes veteran batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul, who has 12 tons in his 398 List A matches, and is the most experienced player in the entire tournament. He is one of three Test players in the Jaguars team.

Left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul, who was recently named in the West Indies 30-man provisional squad for the 2015 World Cup, was appointed Vice Captain.

Vishaul Singh and Raymond Reifer are set to make his regional 50-over debuts for Guyana, while Steven Jacobs makes a return to Guyana colours after leading Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) in the same tournament last year.

Also making a comeback to national duty is middle-order batsman Royston Crandon and Jonathan Foo, who gets a recall after a four-year absence.

Meanwhile, Assistant Coach Rayon Griffith said the aim was to play good cricket throughout the tournament.

We have a big chance; as a team, the way the boys have performed recently: they are very confident. So, I think we have a chance and if we remain focused we can do it. Our focus is to play good cricket and that is what we would be looking to do,” Griffith said.

Guyana have not won a 50-over title since 2005 when they beat Barbados. The Jaguars have been placed in Group A alongside defending champions Barbados Pride, Windward Islands Volcanoes, and CCC. The Jaguars will play the Windward Islands Volcanoes on January 15, Barbados Pride on January 17 and CCC on January 19 in their three preliminary round games.

All three games are day/night matches, which will commence at 13:30h at the Queen’s Park Oval.

The 14-member squad reads: Rajendra Chandrika; Trevon Griffith; Shivnarine Chanderpaul; Vishaul Singh; Christopher Barnwell (Captain); Raymon Reifer; Anthony Bramble; Veerasammy Permaul (Vice Captain); Devendra Bishoo; Ronsford Beaton; Paul Wintz; Steven Jacobs; Royston Crandon; and Jonathan Foo.