GCB County LO Tomorrow

Date Published: 
Guyana Chronicle
Chronicle Staff

WITH the aim of giving the players adequate preparation time for the West Indies Cricket Board’s (WICB) Regional four-day and Super50 tournaments which bowl off next month, the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) will bowl off its senior Inter-county 50-over competition tomorrow with games at Everest and Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) grounds respectively.

The Inter-county four-day competition will immediately follow at the venues to be announced and all county boards are reminded that only players participating in these competitions or those on national duties will be eligible for selection to the national squad to participate in the WICB regional one-day and four-day competitions.

County Boards and team management are advised that all players from the Essequibo and Berbice Cricket Boards are asked to assemble at the Chetram Singh Centre of Excellence by 18:00hrs today.

Those who are seeking further information, especially with regard to travel arrangements for their team, can make contact with the GCB Administrator for travel details.

With the absence of those players who wing out today to compete in the WICB CT20, several new faces such as Gilford Moore, Collis Butts, Raj Nannan, Gudakesh Motie, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Shimron Hetmyer, Joshua Wade and Jeetendra Sookdeo will be representing various teams in the four-team competition.

However, while Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo are allowed to make changes for the four-day aspect of the tournament, the President’s XI squad which will be led by former national Under-19 skipper Eugene La Fleur, will remain the same for both tournaments.

The squads selected for these GCB competitions are as follows: Demerara Team - Rajendra Chandrika, Ryan Ramdass, Shemroy Barrington, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Vishal Singh, Travis Dowlin, Zaheer Mohamed, Amir Khan, Joseph Perry, Paul Wintz, Kellon Carmichael, Andre Stoll, Robin Bacchus and Totaram Bishun. Shaun Massiah (manager) Orin Bailey (coach).

Essequibo: Kenzo Baksh, Mark Tyrell, Rayon Fredericks (captain), Dellon Heyliger, Jason Heyliger, Herrel Greene, Herry Greene, Anthony Adams, Ricardo Adams, Grayson Paul, Roopesh Motilall, Wayne Osborne, Mustapha Zaman and Vijai Surujpaul. Vibert Johnson (coach) Aotto Christiani (manager).

Berbice: Sewnarine Chattergoon, Richard Ramdeen, Shemron Hetmyer, Assad Fudadin (captain), Gajanand Singh, Jason Sinclair, Krisendat Ramoo, Eon Hooper, Jamal Khan, Delbert Hicks, Keon Joseph, Clinton Pestano, Gudakesh Motie and Shawn Pereira. Manager is Julian Cambridge and the coach is Julian Moore.

President’s XI Inter-County Squad (50 overs and 4-day) Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Krishna Arjune, Kevon Boodie, Elton Baker, Jeetendra Sukdeo, Devon Clements, Anthony Bramble, Dexter Solomon, Eugene La Fleur(Captain), Raj Nannan, Stephen Latcha, Collis Butts, Brandon Bess, Gilford Moore and Joshua Wade. The manager is Dru Bahadur while Adrian Amsterdam will execute the duties of coach.