GCA Div2 Final Today

Date Published: 
Stabroek News
Stabroek News Staff

The Raymond Panday / Cummings Electrical second division two-day final bowls into action today at the Demerara Cricket Club (DCC), between Transport Sport Club (TSC) and the Queenstown-based team from 11:00 hours.

The tournament, which started last year, will culminate tomorrow and the teams will meet the sponsors, match officials and other delegates 30 minutes before the game. TSC will be led by Shawn Massiah while DCC will be led by Lyndon Lyght.

The teams will be competing for $125,000 in prize money with the winner receiving $75,000 and the runner-up $50,000. Players will also have the chance to win bowling, batting and all-rounder’s prizes for their efforts in the championship. A prize is also up for the player of the final. According to President of the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) Alfred Mentore, they will be looking to add other incentive for players when the match concludes  tomorrow.

TSC Team: Shawn Massiah (Captain), Stephan Sampson, Rawle Enmore, Dwayne Graham, Mark Nicholson, Shafiek Ishmael, Azeem Azeez, Kadir Manjoor, Ryan Jones, Imtiaz Pooran, Clyde Hoyte, Leroy Forsythe, Damion Whitby and Andre O’ Donahue.

DCC Team: Lyndon Lyght (Captain), Gladwin Brandis, Jermaine Horatio, C. Primo, R. Atkins, Kevin George, Edward Burnette, Jaigobin, C. Gonsalves, Matthew Marks, Denver Greaves, J. Byron and C. Byron.