Fireworks Expected At Albion

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

Cricket fans are expected to fill the Albion Sports Complex today where intense battles are promised in the annual Guyana Independence Twenty20 Cup. The tournament which forms part of celebrations to mark Guyana’s 46th Independence anniversary is a joint fund-raising venture by the Berbice Cricket Board and the Berbice Chambers of Commerce and Development.

The four teams that will be battling for supremacy are Berbice Titans, the Berbice Karibee Rice Elephant Boyz, Hits and Jams Superstars and Hotel Tower Cavaliers. West Indies A team skipper Veerasammy Permaul will lead the Titans instead of national T20 selectee Rajiv Ivan, as was previously announced, while West Indies leg spinner Devendra Bishoo remains the vice captain of the team.

Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets first division captain Shawn Pereira will lead the Berbice Karibee Rice Elephant Boyz and he will have as his deputy, national fast bowler Keon Joseph. The Georgetown-based Hits and Jams team will be led by former Guyana T20 wicketkeeper/batsman Tyrell Tull with the aggressive opener Robin Bacchus as his deputy, while Gajanand Singh will lead the Hotel Tower Cavaliers.

The first game between game Berbice Titans and Berbice Karibee Rice Elephant Boyz commences at 11:00 hours, followed by the Hits and Jams Superstars and Hotel Tower Cavaliers clash from 14:30 hours before the grand final under lights from 19:00 hours.

Admission to the venue is $500 for adults and $200 for children. Gates open at 09:00 hours and tickets will be sold only at the venue. Funds raised from the tournament will be used for charity work and cricket development in Berbice.

Berbice Titans: – Veerasammy Permaul, Richard Ramdeen, Joemal La Fleur, Khemraj Mahadeo, Keon De Jesus, Jonathan Foo, Rajiv Ivan, Delbert Hicks, Devendra Bishoo, Michael Newland, Brendon Bess, Sewnarine Chattergoon and Stephen Latcha. (Manager is Mark Lyte and Hubern Evans the coach).

Karibee Elephant Boyz: - Shawn Pereira, Harrinarine Chattergoon, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Keith Fraser, Veerapen Permaul, Kevin Ramdeen, Eon Hooper, Jason Sinclair, Clinton Pestano, Keon Joseph, Mark Lionel, Daneshwari Prashad, Renwick Batson and Linden Austin. Anil Beharry (Manager) and Julian Moore (Coach).

Hits and Jams: -  Tyrell Tull, Vishal Singh, Andrew Lyght, Trevon Griffith, Steven Jacobs, Jeetendra Sukhdeo, Robin Bacchus, Christopher Barnwell, Shemroy Barrington, Amir Khan, Ronsford Beaton, Carlos La Rose, Elton Baker and Andre Stoll. Sherlock Atwell (Manager) and Gavin Nedd (Coach).

Hotel Tower Cavaliers: – Gajanand Singh, Andre Percival, Paul Wintz, Ishwar Singh, Waheid Edwards, Farouk Hussain, Balram Samaroo, Kellon Carmichael, Dayanand Roopnarine, Cohen Ismond, Budhan Baksh and Anthony Ifill.