Demerara 2012 Senior LO Champs

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Zaheer Mohamed

E’bo beat President XI by 148 runs

Demerara defeated GT&T Berbice by two wickets to capture the Guyana Cricket Board Senior 50-over Inter County title at the Everest Cricket Club ground yesterday. The home team won the toss and inserted Berbice to bat after the game was reduced to 43 overs due to overnight rain. Pacer Andre Stoll removed Sewnarine Chattergoon for 4 and Assad Fudadin for 3 to reduce Berbice to 22-2.

Richard Ramdeen and Gajanand Singh took the score to 98 before leg spinner Amir Khan accounted for Singh who made 28 with the score at 96.  Ramdeen was then caught off Khan for a well played 68 which came off 70 balls and contained six fours.

Left hander Zamal Khan was the only other batsman to reached double figures with 23 (2×4) as Berbice finished on 163-9 off allotted overs. Stoll 3-25 off 8 overs, Robin Bacchus 3-21 off 8 and Amir Khan 2-30 from 9, were the main wicket takers for Demerara.

Set a revised target of 150, Demerara lost opener Rajendra Chandreka leg before for 1 with the score on 8 in the first over off Keon Joseph. Joseph then accounted for Chanderpaul Hemraj (10) and Vishal Singh (2) to leave the score at 35-3. 

Barrington and Robin Bacchus then took the score to 54 before Barrington was caught and bowled by Fudadin for 11 at 54. Joseph Perry joined Bacchus and took the total to 102 with sensible batting as Demerara fought back. Krishendat Ramoo then had Bacchus caught for a fighting 52 which came off 57 balls and included six fours.

The home team then lost Perry (7) and Paul Wintz, who was run out for 7, to leave the score at 133-7. Amir Khan was then run out without scoring at 138 but Zaheer Mohamed who ended unbeaten on 25 (3×4,1×6) and Stoll 1 not out saw their to safety as they finished on 150-8 in 34.2 overs. Joseph ended with 3-20 while Gudakesh Motie Kanhai, Krishendat Ramoo and Fudadin had one each.

At DCC, the President XI won the toss and asked Essequibo to bat. Openers Norman and Royan Federicks added 120 for the first wicket stand. The duo rotated the strike and easily dispatched the bad balls to the boundary as they laid the foundation for a huge Essequibo total.

Royan was the first to go when he was bowled by pacer Joshua Wade for 62 (4×4, 3×6). Dillon Heyliger then joined Norman and continued to defy the opposition with a second wicket stand of 89. They brought up their team 200 in the 36th over before Norman was bowled by Elton Baker for 75 (3×4, 3×6). Heyliger, who reached his half century with a single to long off, dominated a 49 run 3rd wicket stand with Ricardo Adams before he was dismissed for 75 (2×4,6×6).

The left handed Adams then made the President XI pay for dropping him on 6, he hit Wade for 6 then followed up with another six off Jitendra Sookdeo before hoisting Elton Baker back over his head for a maximum. His fifty, which came with a six over mid wicket off Baker, lasted for 24 balls and included one four and four sixes. He was then caught off Baker in an attempt to clear the ropes at mid wicket one delivery later.

Essequibo then lost Jason Heyliger 21, Anthony Adams 8 but Wayne Osborne 14 not out  (2×6) and Mark Tyrell (01*) saw them to a challenging 344-7 off their allotted overs. Baker grabbed 3-51 off 5 overs while Butts had 2-42 from 10; Wade and Clements had 1 each.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul then pulled Dillon Heyliger through mid wicket for four in the first over then spanked Roopesh Motilall for consecutive boundaries in the second over as he added 21 for the opening stand with Anthony Bramble when the President XI began their reply. Motilall soon had Bramble leg before for 5 at 21 in the 4th over.

Kevon Boodie, who opened his account with a straight drive off Dillon Heyliger for four, put together 52 for the second wicket stand before he was caught off Anthony Adams for 26 (3×4,1×6).

Chanderpaul soon reached his half century with a maximum off Anthony Adams before Herry Green had Baker caught and bowled for 05 at 95. Devon Clements was then bowled by Ricardo Adams for 17 at 112. The President XI then lost Jitendra Sookdeo for 19, Dexter Solomon 00, Wade 00, Butts 00 in quick succession to leave the score at 158-7.

However Brandon Bess who ended unbeaten on 16 ensured Chanderpaul reached his well deserved century with a six over mid wicket off Green. Chanderpaul who played shots on both sides of the wicket finished unbeaten on 103 which was decorated with thirteen fours and three sixes as the President XI closed their innings on 196-8 in 50 overs.

Jason Heyliger bagged 3-24 off 10 overs, while Ricardo, Anthony and Herry Green had one each as Essequibo won the match by 148 runs.

Demerara received a trophy and $200,000, while Tagenarine Chanderpaul collected the Most Valuable Player award. Speaking at the presentation ceremony at the Everest Cricket Club, Vice President of the GCB Fizul Bacchus congratulated Demerara for winning the tournament and urged the cricketers to get themselves prepared for the four day tournament which starts on Thursday.