Dem Beat Ebo, Berbice In Control

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Zaheer Mohamed

Demerara defeated Essequibo by 8 wickets, while Berbice are 4 wickets away from victory when play in the Guyana Cricket Board Senior four-day Inter County tournament continued yesterday.

At Everest, Essequibo resumed on their overnight total of 72-1 with Norman Federicks on 33 and Dillon Heyliger on 25, they took the score to 83 before Federicks was bowled by pacer Andrea Stoll without addition to his score.

Leg spinner Amir Khan removed Ricardo Adams for 14 (2×6) and Herrell Green (00), while Kellon Carmichael accounted for Wayne Osborne (00) to leave Essequibo in trouble at 116-4. Heyliger however continued to play his shots and soon reached a well deserved half century before he was caught off Totaram Bishun for 57 (8×4) at 129.

Essequibo then lost Anthony Adams and Kenzo Baksh in quick succession to be at 132-8. Surajpaul and Herry Green however added 18 for the 9th wicket with Surajpaul reaching his fifty which included six fours. Green was then run out for 06 before Surajpaul departed for 54 leaving Roopesh Motilall not out on 02; Essequibo bowled out for 187 in 55 overs.

Bishun grabbed 3-48, Amir Khan 3-61 and Carmichael 2-24. With 96 required for victory Demerara lost Shemroy Barrington for 10 (27-1) and Chanderpaul Hemraj for 01 (37-2). Robin Bacchus who slammed six fours along with Vishal Singh with 21 not out saw their team to victory in the 26th over just after tea, finishing on 97-2. Anthony Adams and Herry Green were the wicket takers for Essequibo.

Meanwhile, Gajanand Singh and Anthony D’Andrade began the day on 57 and 02 respectively, with GT&T Berbice on 267-3 at DCC against the President’s XI. Singh was the first to go when he was trapped in front by pacer Gilford Moore for 65 (7×4).

Pacer Seon Daniels had D’Andrade leg before for 13 at 328 before Delbert Hincks and Jason Sinclair put together 54 for the 6th wicket stand with sensible batting. Hincks eventually departed for 68 with the score 382, he stroked nine fours and two maximums.

Sinclair added a further 26 with Clinton Pestano before the latter went for 20. Eon Hooper soon followed without scoring as Berbice declared their first innings on 424-8 with Sinclair unbeaten on 26 and Gudakesh Moti Kanhai on 02.

Daniels was the leading wicket taker for the President’s XI with 3-82, while Collins Butts had 2-60; Nanan, Clements and Moore took one each. The President’s XI, needing to score 241 to make Berbice bat again, found themselves in early trouble in their second innings, losing the wickets of Krishna Arjune (01) and Tagenarine Chanderpaul (08) to be at 20-2.

Jitendra Sookdeo and Anthony Bramble carried them to 47 before Sookdeo was caught and bowled by Kanhai for 17. Keon Joseph then removed Kevon Boodie for 03 and Kanhai accounted for Clements for 05 to leave the total at 85-5.

Bramble who looked rock solid and Eugene La Fleur put together 50 runs for the 6th wicket but just when they appeared to be taking their team to stumps without further loss,  Berbice skipper Assad Fudadin asked part time spinner Sewnarine Chattergoon to deliver to bowl the last over of the day and the decision paid dividends when Chattergoon had La Fleur caught and bowled off the first ball for 13; the President’s XI closed the day on 135-6 after facing 43.1 overs with Bramble unbeaten on 78 (13×4).

Kanhai has so far taken 2 wickets, while Joseph, Pestano, Hooper and Chattergoon have one each. The game continues today.