Busta Champions Match Preview

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

RHTY&SC, Albion CC clash in final today

The long standing rivalry between Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets and Albion Community Centre Cricket Club will continue today when the two top Berbice cricket teams clash in the final of the 2012 Busta Champion of Champions tournament at the Area ‘H’ ground from 09:30 hours.

The game will feature most of Berbice’s best players who have dominated the county’s first division cricket for the past five years.

Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets, who have won the Busta Cup seven times, will be without captain and Test cricketer, Assad Fudadin. However, they have a strong batting line-up with players of the calibre of Delbert Hicks, Renwick Batson, Jason Sinclair, Dominique Rikhi, Rajiv Ivan, Eon Hooper, Royston Crandon and Clinton Pestano.

Their bowling will be spearheaded by medium-pacers Pestano and Batson, with support from off-spinners Crandon, Rikhi, Loyydel Lewis, Shailendra Shameer, Ivan and Hooper and leg-spinner Shawn Pereira, who may lead the team.

Albion CC, on the other hand, have been struggling all season, and in the absence of West Indies players Narsingh Deonarine and Veerasammy Permaul, they will need to lift their game.

Their batting will depend heavily on discarded West Indies opener Sewnarine Chattergoon, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Andy Mohan, the hard-hitting Jonathan Foo, the in-form Devendra Bishoo, who hit a century last weekend, the promising Sharaz Ramcharran and with the hope that youth players like Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Balchan Baldeo, Veerapen Permaul and David Latchaya come to the party with some crucial runs.

Their bowling will rally around West Indies leg-spinner Bishoo,

along with Chattergoon, Ramcharran, Permaul and the impressive left-arm spinner, Motie-Kanhai.

General Manager of the Guyana Beverage Company, Robert Selman, and Marketing Manager, Shamieza Yadram, are expected to meet the teams before the game which will be broadcast on NCN Radio.

The winning team will pocket $100,000 and the Busta trophy, the runner-up $50,000 and the Man-of-the-Match $10,000 and trophy. Umpires for the finals will be Imran Moakan and Zaheer Moakan with Shawn Cunja as the standby.

Team: Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets:  Renwick Batson, Dominique Rikhi, Jason Sinclair, Rajiv Ivan, Delbert Hicks, Royston Crandon, Eon Hooper, Clinton Pestano, Shawn Pereira, Loyydel Lewis, Shailendra Shameer, Askay Homraj and Arif Chan. Manager: Patrick Lewis. Coach: Michael Hyles Franco.

Albion CC: Sewnarine Chattergoon, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Sharaz Ramcharran, Jonathan Foo, Veerapen Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Satesh Dwarka, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, David Latchaya, Andy Mohan, S. Srikissoon, Balchan Baldeo and Lachman Bishram. Manager: M. Permual.