Blairmont No 4: Wins Softball

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

Blairmont No 4 won attorney Tajenarine Ramroop 10/10 softball cricket competition when they beat favourites and previously unbeaten Blairmont No 1 by eight wickets in the final.

The winning No 3 team poses with the accolades and sponsor and oraniser Tajenarine Ramroop

In so doing they took the Blairmont Premier League Inter-Settlement 10/10 softball cricket competition which was played at the Blairmont Settlement cricket ground. The competition which was sponsored and organised by lawyer and former cricketer Tajenarine Ramroop for teams in Blairmont and Ithaca villages, saw six males and two female teams participated.

The competition was played on a round robin basis. In the finals, Blairmont No 4 won the toss and inserted No 1 to take first strike, reaching 84 all out in 9.3 overs with Khemchand Persaud scoring 29 and Jugeshwar Singh, 17, being the tops corers. Bowling for No 4 Lakesh Takeram grabbed 5 for 7 off his two overs.

In reply the Blairmont No 4 reached 86-2 with Vejai Farad stroking an unbeaten 52 and Sohanlall Bissonlall making 23 not out. Farad hit sis sixes in his knock while Zai Karim took both wickets for No 1.

In the female game Blairmont No 3 defeated Blairmont No 2 by eight wickets in the final. Batting first, No 2 reached 79 all out with Soma Kissonlall making 41 and Zena Singh, 22. In their reply No 3 reached 82-2 in 8.1 overs with Babita Dwarka scoring 38 not out.

Vijai Farad copped the Man-of-the-match award and the batsman with the most runs in the finals.

The best wicketkeeper prize went to Carlos Holmes. The best bowler award went to Leslie Amsterdam, the emerging player award went to D Rasheed, while Dewan Persaud copped the trophy for taking a hat-trick.

In the female category, the player of the match went to Dwarka for scoring 38 and taking two wickets. Kissonlall got the award for scoring the most runs in the finals. Theresa Cazier with figures of 4-14 and Vasha Basdeo with three wicket got prizes for their bowling performances.