Albion Win Caricom Day T20

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

The spin trio of Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, skipper Devendra Bishoo and Shiraz Ramcharran bowled host Albion Cricket Club to the inaugural Caricom Day ‘Albion Cup’ T20 title over Port Mourant Cricket Club on Monday.

Motie-Kanhai (3-11), Bishoo (3-12) and Ramcharran (2-12), combined to restrict Port Mourant Cricket Club to 104 in 18.1 overs. Davendra Thakurdeen 26 (2×4), Andrew Lyght Jr 19 (2×4), Loyydel Lewis 15 and Yogindra Harrinarine 13 (2×6) were their leading batsmen.

In reply, ACC reached 108 for 3 off 19.2 overs, with Surujnarine hitting an unbeaten 58 (56balls, 3×4; 1×6), backed by David Latchaya’s 16, the two sharing a 43 runs third wicket partnership.

Anthony Bramble (18) had earlier added 54 for the second wicket with Surujnarine, after seeing the early demise of Balchand Baldeo who failed to trouble the scorers.

In the first semi final match of the day, Port Mourant Cricket Club defeated Rose Hall Town Gismos and Gadgets by 18 runs. Batting first PMCC posted 99-6; in reply RHTGG reached 81-7.

In the other semi final, ACC beat Young Warriors by 59 runs. Batting first ACC reached 91-6; in reply Young Warriors were bowled out for 32 in 8.5 overs.

While Surujnarine won the Man of the Match and Best Batsman awards, Motie-Kanhai took home the Best Bowler award having picked up a total of 8 for 13 including his best of 5 for 2, while Albion took home $50,000 and a trophy and PMCC $25,000 and a trophy.