4-Day County Tourney Begins

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Zaheer Mohamed

The Guyana Cricket Board Senior four-day Inter County tournament gets cracking from today with Berbice facing the President XI at DCC and Essequibo playing Demerara at Everest.

The Berbicians will no doubt look to redeem themselves after suffering mixed fortunes in the 50-over format. Their batting will be centered around openers Sewnarine Chattergoon and Richard Ramdeen, Assad Fudadin, Gajanand Singh and Clinton Pestano. Pacer Keon Joseph, Gudakesh Motie Kanhai and Shawn Pereira spearhead the bowling department.

The President XI on the other hand are capable of creating upsets. Young opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul, who scored the only century and took the MVP in the 50-over tournament, leads their batting line up, which also includes Krishna Arjune, Eugene La Fleur, Kevon Boodie and Jitendra Sookdeo.

Surprisingly omitted from the Berbice team, pacer Brandon Bess is expected to share the new ball with Gilford Moore, and with support from Seon Daniels, who replaced medium-pacer Joshua Wade (groin injury), Collis Butts and Devon Clements, this attack possess the firepower to restrict their opposition for attainable totals.

Essequibo, fresh from a 148-run victory over the President's XI in the limited-overs competition, will look to continue their winning ways against the home team. Their openers Norman and Royan Federicks are in good touch and Essequibo can depend on them for a solid start. The likes of Dillon Heyliger, Ricardo Adams and Wayne Osborne, Vijay Surujpaul add depth to their batting and while Anthony Adams, Mark Tyrell and Herry Green have shown good form with the ball recently, they will value the support received from Dillon Heyliger, Jason Heyliger and Ricardo Adams.

Demerara, the 50-over champions, have proved that teamwork is very important in achieving success. Talented left-hander Kwame Crosse replaces the injured Ryan Ramdass, while Shemroy Barrington, Rajendra Chandreka and Vishal Singh are in good form with the bat. Their bowling department consists of pacers Paul Wintz and Andre Stoll, who have done well with the new ball in the one-day competition, and spinners Zaheer Mohamed, Totaram Bishun and Amir Khan.

Meanwhile the likes of Seon Hetymer, Latchman Rohit, Damien Van Tull, Andrew Lyght jnr., Deon Ferrier, Wasim Haslim and Ryan Rajmangal continued to be overlooked for the 2013 inter-county tournament, which is used to select the Guyana team for the Regional 50-over and 4-day competitions.